Consecration Renewal – Day 17

Day 17 of Consecration Preparation from 2008 (or renewal)

From “Mary, Human and Holy” (Antonio Bello)
Chapter 16: Woman of the New Wine

Do you remember back in Chapter 12 (Emigrant Woman) we saw Mary “on the border” between the old covenant and the new? At Cana, she crosses over. Bishop Bello introduces me (at least) to a deeper interpretation of what really took place at the marriage feast there:

It seems certain, however, that the evangelist’s intention was not so much to show Mary’s concern for people, or the power of her intercession with her son. Rather, it was to present her as the woman who instantly perceived that the old world had reached its term. Anticipating the “hour” of Jesus, she introduced into the banquet of history not only the jars of the feast, but also the first fermentation of newness….

Whether or not Mary fully realized that the old covenant was about to be fulfilled in the new, she courageously fostered the transition. Intervening in anticipation, she asked Jesus for an advance on the wine of the new covenant which, in her presence, would pour forth inexhaustibly at the hour of the cross.

Mother Mary, as usual, I am feeling rather overcome this morning by the way everything I have been studying/reading/reflecting upon over the last few days is inter-related. At the moment, it’s all swirling around in my head and heart. Today’s chapter from Bishop Bello is all mixed up with what I was reading earlier this morning from a book about the Precious Blood, which in turn is all mixed up with the post I just did yesterday here on the song, “Mary the Dawn”. I will try to sort it all out today as I am washing (long overdue) the windows, and see how I might be able to explain some of this inter-relatedness (probably in a post at Contemplative Haven). Please help me, Mother Mary, and guide my thoughts.

9 Responses

  1. Amen.

    I like this new look at Cana.. I have now a great many extra thoughts about it all.. but I will rather look forward to your musings. As you know, this last laptop in the house is on its last electrode and my last nerve. If I miss much before the replacement arrives, I’ll catch up asap.

  2. I have always been fascinated by the wedding feast at Cana. The relationship between Jesus and his mother in this scenario has always been, for me, perplexing and intriguing yet utterly human. There is both a family dynamic and a salvific dynamic taking place and Bishop Bello adds another dimension for reflection and contemplation. This really broadens my perspective on this event.

  3. Bishop Bello has certainly given us a great deal to think about, hasn’t he, and I’m still trying to come to terms with all the things that co-related for me yesterday morning. Haven’t been able to sit down and reflect/write about it in any way yet, and July (dedicated to the Precious Blood) is almost over. I can hardly believe how quickly the summer days are speeding by.

  4. Speaking of co-relatedness, I saw your post and something clicked in my mind. I wrote about it in my blog. Nothing earth shattering, but it somehow had a special meaning for me. And then this morning, my birthday, a friend called at 7:30 am to wish me well (!) and then a few minutes later my sister called (very odd, because it was 2 am in the States)…she started crying and told me my mom had had a stroke. And I couldn’t help but think of all the thoughts and sensations of the past couple of weeks..things that happened, dreams dreamt, little signs that I’d picked up on, not only from mom or about her, but about this phase of my (our) life…stuck in that middle age, between two generations, each with special needs and problems. Time certainly does pass inexorably, and the inter-relatedness of it all is just so much in the forefront to me. How odd that you, Gab, would be talking about the same thing, although from your personal viewpoint. I’ll be looking forward to reading your post. In the meantime, of course, my family and I would appreciate all your prayers. Love to you all.

  5. Oh ((((MPD)))) I’m so sorry. My prayers are indeed with you and your family.

  6. Pia, I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom having a stroke; my Mass and Holy Communion this weekend will be for her; please let us know how she is faring. And I’m also sorry that you had to receive such news on your birthday –

    I just went over to read your post and I can relate to it quite a bit. Just want to think about it some more. There is something about the emptiness that people are feeling right now that I think is something more than just a part of the normal ups and downs of the spiritual life (and is rather what I meant when I said here not long ago that everyone seems to be dragging around).

  7. You mean maybe that the emptiness we are feeling is not like the the “shell around fullness, the womb cherishing the Word…or like Houselander’s emptiness of the reed?”

    I think we’re in the midst of a great temptation. If people who are at least trying to live their lives according to God’s will are dragging themselves around, feeling empty (in the sense of a bottomless void), can you imagine how people who live in Godlessness are faring? The political and especially the social situation in Italy and all over the world is going to the dogs, and life has become totally meaningless. People should be out on the streets, protesting, but the majority sits in silence, totally oblivious to the many wake up calls.
    What to do?

    Anyway, mom seems to be doing better. The PT team actually had her stand up last night, though she was very agitated and mumbled “go away” and kept trying to pull out her iv’s. But then she fell asleep and when she woke up she was smiling and even managing to speak a little better. I just wish she didn’t have to go through this…and I wish I could be there, but it’s just impossible.

  8. I’m glad your Mom is a little better; I know it’s hard not to be able to go, but I’m sure both she and the family understand that it’s impossible since you just made the trip over to the States recently for her heart surgery.

    I guess I’m thinking of what appears to me to be a lack of joy, a lack of energy (spiritual and physical) that I see all around me. You may remember, during Lent I concentrated on joy over at Contemplative Haven, but I don’t think I helped perk anybody up… But I will persevere. 🙂 It seems to me that self-care is sadly lacking in many peoples’ lives; by that I don’t mean overindulgence or hedonistic pastimes, but I do think many are not taking care of themselves and their own joy even with the basics. Even in these economic times, we can still get out in nature, we can still bring some bread and fruit and have a little picnic, we can replenish ourselves in many simple ways alone or with family. I just don’t think people who are walking with the Lord are taking any time to replenish themselves, which is so necessary if we are to have the energy to serve, and have joy in service.

  9. I agree with you. I do take time for this kind of activity…I guess where I live is conducive to just that kind of replenishment. Maybe that’s why I’m not an emotional mess right now?

Leave a Reply

