Consecration Renewal – Day 11

Day 11 of Consecration Preparation from 2008 (or renewal)

From “Mary, Human and Holy” (Antonio Bello)
Chapter 10: Woman of the First Look

Yes, she was the first one to lay eyes on the human face of God. She wrapped him immediately with her gaze….

You are the first creature to have contemplated the flesh of God made man… You are also the first creature on earth that God saw with his eyes of flesh…

Holy Mary, woman of the first look, grant us the grace of wonder. The world has robbed us of that capacity…. We live through seasons without the first fruits of the harvest. Instead, we think we already know what flavor each fruit conceals under its rind.

Mother Mary, everyone seems to be dragging around, plodding hour by hour through their days rather than living them. Come with me now as I go and sit in the garden and eat my first Ontario peach of the season. Glorious colours and fragrance of summer flowers, the twilight chanting of birds before sleep, and that ripe, juicy peach before I have my cup of tea. The world can’t really rob me of my capacity to enjoy these treasures of God’s creation; only I can allow that to happen. I do ask for graces of wonder and gratitude and fresh eyes, Mother Mary, for myself, my family, my friends…for everyone…

2 Responses

  1. Amen-issimo

  2. Amen. Enjoy the enjoyin’!

Leave a Reply

