Consecration Renewal – Day 10

Day 10 of Consecration Preparation from 2008 (or renewal)

From “Mary, Human and Holy” (Antonio Bello)
Chapter 9: Woman Who Took Sides

Bishop Bello tells us that we have only to look at the Magnificat to see that Mary did not take a neutral stance on the issues of her day:

She sided with the poor, the marginalized, and the downtrodden of all ages. She sided with those discriminated against by human malice, those pushed aside by the power of destiny, and all those who count for nothing in the eyes of history.

Mary took a stand, and although it was on the “side of the downtrodden”, as Mother to all she did not abandon the wealthy and powerful to their own devices:

She enrolled, as it were, in the army of the poor, yet did not turn weapons on the rich. Rather, she invited them to desert their encampments and join her in her song of compassion.

Let us pray with Bishop Bello:

When will we decide to follow your example and make choices that involve loss on a natural level with the conviction that only by crossing over to your shore can we find salvation?

Holy Mary, free us from the temptation to serve two masters. Make us go out into the open. Don’t let us try to reconcile impossible opposites.

4 Responses

  1. When I read these words I hear “surrender” and “trust.” These are powerfully attractive to me as goals of our spiritual quest. Yet they are also the most difficult for me to adopt and embrace. So I ask Mary for the grace to do what I, by myself, am incapable of doing.

  2. Hi, Terry; how are you doing these days?

    I agree about the surrender and trust, Terry. What especially caught my eye was asking Mary to help us “make choices that involve loss on a natural level” – not just accepting loss that comes, but choosing what might appear to be “loss” in order to better imitate Mary. This appeals to me very much in terms of living more simply, less burdened materialistically, etc. Many have been forced into making these choices during these past few years with the economy, but it also feels pretty wonderful to make some of these choices oneself, even little by little over time.

  3. One of the strangest days of my life happened a few months before I took nursing aide training. I’d landed a job as a school secretary yet again. It would please everyone– and I am pleased when others are pleased. But the more I thought about it, the more I wanted not to fill out the I-9 and W-4 that morn with the school’s director. I rode around the town, praying. This job would be well-paid, have benefits, was something I was quite proficient in (seriously, I could multi-task like crazy, a real asset), offered municipal retirement, and all sorts of perks. To keep up with it all, I’d have to dress fairly well, be normally coiffed, and accessorize. Real gold. I already had the bells-and-whistles car, but soo n would come the tennis games, the bistro lunches, the gym.. I would definitely be serving two masters, and I knew Who would lose.

    Indeed, I couldn’t stand the tear in St. Francis’ eye. I walked into her office 10 minutes late, apologized for that, and profusely apologized as I turned down the position. I told her it was a result of prayer, and that she probably thought me crazy.. No, she understood and thanked me profusely for being so honest. I offered to fill in for free in any interim, should they have to re-interview applicants, but she had a good second and third to choose from, and we were both fine as I left the building.

    The Lord has got our backs; we’ve got to believe that, and with Mary whispering in His ear, we’ll be more than fine. We have to make the first move, though.

  4. Yes, and the grace has to be there first for us to even make that first move. I know fear, or even just the fear of disappointing others, as you say, can be so tremendously overwhelming. Our instincts are for survival, of course, but so many people have lived so far above survival mode for so long that the world is unbalanced. In one of the DFOT Messages from Vol. 1, Mary says: “Many of our chosen souls hold tightly to worldly possessions. It is this last barrier that I seek to penetrate…Do not worry. I will show you what I wish you to have and what I wish you to forego.” I’m sure Mary was whispering in your ear that day, C, as well as in Jesus’ ear.

Leave a Reply

