Consecration Renewal – Day 5

Day 5 of Consecration Preparation from 2008 (or renewal)

From “Mary, Human and Holy” (Antonio Bello)
Chapter 4: Woman in Love

Her girlfriends, who picked flowers with her in the meadows, didn’t understand how she could combine her rapture in God and her love for a creature…For Mary, instead, it was like putting together two halves of a line from a psalm….

For the other girls from Nazareth, the human love they experienced was like water in a cistern: clear, yes, but with some dregs on the bottom. It wouldn’t take much to stir up the dregs and muddy the water. For Mary, no. They could never understand that Mary’s love had no dregs, because hers was a bottomless well.

…we ask pardon for offenses against your humanity. We have thought you capable only of flames ascending toward heaven, and then, perhaps out of fear of contaminating you with earthly things, we have excluded you from the experience of small sparks here below.

As I write this, Mary is asking me to think about her hand. I have often read that Mary has asked us to take her hand and allow her to lead us. I always thought that this was just her way of expressing how she would lead us as a mother leads a child, out of danger or towards good things. She is no longer with us physically, so how could this be anything more (or other) than a metaphor for allowing her to lead us in the spiritual life, lead us to Jesus, to our Abba Father, to the Holy Spirit? I could meditate on it; I could visualize it, as in an Ignatian meditation. But can I sustain this intimate vision of holding Mary’s hand throughout the course of my day? Can I practise the presence of Mary, as I practise the presence of God?

7 Responses

  1. Oh, yes, I think you (we) can.

  2. Thanks, Pia! I’ll check back in here after I’ve seen it.

  3. Not sure if this beautiful portrait of Don Tonino Bello, with English subtitles, is being moderated, but I’ll put it up again, with the suggestion that when you get to the part where the translator wrote “the smell of the people”, substitute it with “fragrance”… 🙂

  4. It was in spam, Pia, but I saw it before it got lost. Haven’t watched it yet though; probably not until tonight. Thanks for the heads-up re the odour of the populace. 😉

  5. Pia, thank you so much. What a beautifully-made documentary. I smiled, I nodded, I cried… An amazing human being, Don Tonino… I loved “contempl active” – inspired. I noticed he was ordained on Dec. 8th, the Feast of the Immaculate Conception – also the date I started this blog! I think I will put the link up in a separate post soon, and there are a few things I wanted to make a note of, so I will watch it again first.

  6. I’m so glad I found something to share with you. There is a webtv channel dedicated to him, of course it’s all in Italian. Maybe I can offer to translate something for them, at least for subtitles.

Leave a Reply

