Consecration Renewal – Day 2

Day 2 of Consecration Preparation from 2008 (or renewal)

From “Mary, Human and Holy” (Antonio Bello)
Chapter 1: An Everyday Woman

So, “Mary lived on earth” – not in the clouds. Her thoughts did not dwell in the air. She acted in the concrete context of everyday life. Even though God may have often called her to the experience of ecstasy, she kept her feet on the ground. Far from being an ethereal visionary, she persistently maintained her household amid harsh daily pressures….

Who knows how many times she came away from doing the laundry with a headache or worried because fewer customers had come to Joseph’s workshop? Who knows how many doors she knocked on during the olive-pressing season to look for a few days’ work for Jesus? Who knows how many hours she spent trying to salvage some material from Joseph’s already threadbare cloak in order to make a cape for her Son?

Mother Mary, how timely that I am reading this chapter now. This is my last week at work, at a job that I have had for close to sixteen years (as You know, for You have been there with me). Fewer customers, yes, in our day as in yours. No contracts – no work. Mary, please give me what Antonio Bello asks for: “Loosen the moorings of our fears so that, like you, we might surrender to the will of God found in the prosaic turns of time and in the slow agony of the hours.”  Help me to emulate you who “experienced in the depths of your femininity a joy without regret, grief without despair, departure without return.”

5 Responses

  1. Oh Gabrielle! My heart goes out to you. Know that you are in my prayers. If anyone can appreciate uncertainty and fear it’s yours truly. May your faith and confidence in the Immaculate Heart and the Sacred Heart sustain you.

  2. We will all pray for His will for you to seem (and then to truly be!) joyful in this new space you’re entering, G.

    I asked Mary to give my mom a hug from me today, here on the 16th anniversary of when Bl. Kateri helped her to finally go behold the place the Lord had prepared for her. I want you to know my mom would be pleased (as I am) that I was drawn into praying for my increased virtues today. A mother could ask no better thing for her child..

    I’ll tell you, though.. if July were not also the month of birthdays for a daughter and a grandson as well as holding the feast days of some very powerful saints — most especially the one to whom I apprenticed myself decades ago whose day is the 22nd, I think I would’ve always been horrified by July. Hence, being here today, nearer to everyone’s Mother for a few minutes, is a solace for me.

  3. Thank you, Terry. I know it’s not “good” to be out of a job, and perhaps I will have a delayed reaction, but somehow I feel the timing is right, and I’m looking forward to seeing where the Lord might lead me! In the meantime, I’ll be clipping coupons…!

    Thanks, Carol. I’m sure it doesn’t seem like 16 years to you since your mother passed away. For my mom it will be 15 years in December, but it seems impossible. (((I’m glad you could find some solace here.)))

  4. ((((Oh guys…)))) a mega virtual hug to you all!

  5. Blowing virtual kisses to you, on Our Lady’s Saturday! Hope you are having a beautiful day, Pia!

Leave a Reply

