The Annunciation of the Lord

The Angelus

The Angel of the Lord declared unto Mary
And she conceived of the Holy Spirit.
(Hail Mary…)

Behold the handmaid of the Lord
Be it done unto me according to Thy Word.
(Hail Mary…)

And the Word was made flesh
And dwelt among us.
(Hail Mary…)

Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God
That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.
Let us pray.

Pour forth we beseech Thee O Lord, Thy grace into our hearts, that we to whom the Incarnation of Christ, Thy Son, was made known by the message of an angel, may by His passion and cross be brought to the glory of His resurrection, through the same Christ, Our Lord, Amen.

4 Responses

  1. Amen.

  2. Oh, and, I didn’t know if you’d seen the post about the Angelus over at the “Nunblog” blog, but it raises an interesting question.

  3. I just went over to the “Nunblog” and read Sister’s post, Carol. When I was in elementary school we said the Angelus every day at noon, but then I got away from it as I grew older. It came back into my life when I did my consecration to the Immaculate Heart of Mary, using the booklet “In the End My Immaculate Heart Will Triumph”, which we used here on this site when we went through the 33-day preparation and is in my left sidebar and in the consecration resources category. After having said it as one of the daily preparation prayers every day for 33 days, it has become a part of my daily life again. So I think perhaps instead of (or along with) trying to think of only one special day in which to promote the Angelus and get young people and everyone back to saying it daily, we can promote consecration to the Immaculate Heart of Mary and the Angelus will enter/re-enter peoples’ lives in a very natural and beautiful way.

    This was your and Ann’s second anniversary of consecration to Mary, no? Special prayers went out for your both…

  4. 🙂 Yes, and thank you. There’s been such an increase of knowing in these 2 years, I feel I may only garble the saying of it. I think the experiences in holy communion that I speak of privately to you, have come through Mary’s intercession. I did not initially understand nor always accept all that I did 2 years ago in this consecration; I found it very hard indeed back then. I thought of it as a defeat. Well, that is how loving surrender feels sometimes. How odd, because Mary the Mother of God is whom Elizabeth her cousin humbly looked to, and Joseph a Patriarch of the house of David, and even Jesus Himself, and His apostles and converted sinners. Popes have dedicated their entire pontificates to her. Why the hesitance within me? Whether I think of her as Mother or not, she is mother, sister, friend, mentor, teacher, protectress, fortress and mediatrix. What is her own goal in my consecration? Only my greater good, and that of all around me, and a greater oneness in God. She, too, gave her only begotten Son for us. In her, too, God was well pleased, and we should listen to her.

Leave a Reply

