Fatima – The Miracle of the Sun

In his book, “The Whole Truth about Fatima. Science and the Facts” (pgs. 293-303), Frère Michel de la Sainte Trinité writes that while the crowd was watching the miraculous spectacle of the sun moving around in the sky, Lucy, Jacinta and Francisco were witnessing something else as well. 

The three seers were given a sequence of three pictures, and Lucy describes each one:

  1. The Vision of the Holy Family“After Our Lady had disappeared into the immense distance of the firmament, we beheld St. Joseph with the Child Jesus and Our Lady robed in white with a blue mantle, beside the sun.  St. Joseph and the Child Jesus appeared to bless the world, for they traced the Sign of the Cross with their hands.”
  2. The Vision of Our Lady of Sorrows“When, a little later, this apparition disappeared, I saw Our Lord and Our Lady; it seemed to me that it was Our Lady of Sorrows.  Our Lord appeared to bless the world in the same manner as St. Joseph had done.”
  3. The Vision of Our Lady of Mount Carmel“This apparition also vanished, and I saw Our Lady once more, this time resembling Our Lady of Mount Carmel.”  

Now, it was on this day, October 13, 1917, that the Blessed Virgin first introduced herself as Our Lady of the Rosary.  Frère Michel makes a connection between the three apparitions noted above and the rosary; he writes that the three visions are “three living images of the mysteries of the rosary.”

He sees the vision of the Holy Family and the blessing being given as illustrative of the Joyful Mysteries of the Rosary; the second vision, of Our Lady of Sorrows (and as Lucy later informed a priest, the Lord in this vision was dressed in red, “no doubt to remind us of the purple mantle in which he was dressed in the pretorium, during the scene of the outrages and the crowning with thorns”) he relates to the Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary; the third vision, of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, he connects with the Glorious Mysteries of the Rosary, because Mary was holding the scapular in her hand, offering it to the world. 

Isn’t it wonderful that Jesus and Mary leave nothing undone; they leave no loose ends.  As I was reading this interpretation by Frère Michel, of course the Luminous Mysteries of the Rosary introduced by Pope John Paul II came to mind – and what would they correspond to on this special day of October 13, 1917?  Why, the main spectacle, of course – the Miracle of the Sun!

Fatima Miracle of the Sun 1

Fatima Miracle of the Sun 2

6 Responses

  1. The Holy Family; the Lord in red; the Scapular..

    And then our Marian Papa’s Luminous Mysteries..

    Indeed –nothing has been left undone nor ungiven.

    Jesus, Mary and too-invisible Joseph: I love you. Save souls.

  2. Thank you, Carol, and for your prayer. I agree with you about the “too-invisible” Joseph; by the way, this past weekend I saw the loveliest statue of Joseph holding the infant Jesus, with Jesus’ head resting on Joseph’s shoulder. It captured so beautifully the caring Joseph and the completely trusting Child, I could hardly take my eyes off it.

  3. I’m ashamed to say I have never heard this. Thank you for sharing – its beautiful. God bless!

  4. Michael, in terms of the visions being related to the mysteries of the rosary, I had never heard that either until I read this book. We’re always learning! Thanks for visiting!

  5. Hi Gabreille! I came across your site when I was searching for images of Jesus. I just wanted to ask permission to use the picture you have of “sacred heart Jesus” for my art, titled “the soul proprietor”. Its not going to be anything professional, just for an art project of mine on DeviantArt, trying out new methods. Your site is very informative, It’s made me think about going back to church 🙂

    Thanks

  6. Hello Lemmi. The picture is not in any way mine; I found it on Google images, and have seen it used on many Catholic blogs, but I don’t know who the artist is.

    I like your title, “the soul proprietor”. (I am so not an artist, I had to look up deviant art online to make sure it wasn’t something terrible.) 🙂

    So what made you decide to stop going to church, Lemmi? I’d love to chat with you about it. Why don’t you send me an email if you have time. The address is contemplativehaven (at hotmail) dot com.

Leave a Reply

