The Holy Name of Mary

Yesterday was the feastday of The Holy Name of Mary.  I was reading St. Alphonsus Liguori’s Hail Holy Queen!, Chapter Ten of which is dedicated to the “sweetness of the name of Mary”. The chapter is filled with the thoughts of many saints and other holy people on this subject, and I share some of them here:

St. Peter Damian:  “The name of Mary came from the treasury of the divinity.”

St. Bernard:  “O most holy Virgin Mary!  Thy name is so sweet and amiable that it cannot be pronounced without inflaming those who do so with love towards thee and God.”

Richard of St. Laurence:  “Thy name, O Mary, is far better than riches, because it can better relieve poverty.”

St. Methodius:  “Thy name, O Mother of God, is filled with divine graces and blessings.”

St. Bonaventure:  “Thy name, O Mary, cannot be pronounced without bringing some grace to him who does so devoutly.”

St. Ambrose:  “Thy most sweet name, O Mary, is a precious ointment, which breathes forth the odor of divine grace.”

St. Germanus:  “…as breathing is a sign of life, so also is the frequent pronunciation of the name of Mary a sign either of the life of divine grace, or that it will soon come; for this powerful name has in it the virtue of obtaining help and life for him who invokes it devoutly.”

♥  M A R Y 

2 Responses

  1. How lovely! I recently happened upon, in an old M. Basil Pennington book dedicated to St. Anne, a prayer he or another monk adapted from the Anima Christi, which I think you and others may like:
    Soul of Mary
    Soul of Mary, sanctify me.
    Heart of Mary, inflame me.
    Hands of Mary, support me.
    Feet of Mary, direct me.
    Immaculate eyes of Mary, look upon me.
    Lips of Mary, speak for me.
    O Mary, hear me.
    In the wound of the Heart of Jesus, hide me.
    Let me never be separated from thee.
    From my enemy defend me.
    At the hour of my death call me.
    And bid me come to your Immaculate Heart;
    that thus I may come to the Heart of Jesus
    and there with the saints praise thee for all eternity.
    Amen.

  2. Thank you, Sheila; I like it very much!

Leave a Reply

