Joy Is Like The Rain

I saw rain drops on my window,
Joy is like the rain.
Laughter runs across my pane,
Slips away and comes again.
Joy is like the rain.

I saw clouds upon a mountain,
Joy is like a cloud.
Sometimes silver, sometimes gray,
Always sun not far away.
Joy is like a cloud.

I saw Christ in wind and thunder,
Joy is tried by storm.
Christ asleep within my boat,
Whipped by wind, yet still afloat,
Joy is tried by storm.

I saw rain drops on a river,
Joy is like the rain,
Bit by bit the river grows,
’til all at once it overflows.
Joy is like the rain.

(By: Sr. Miriam Therese Winter, 1966)

19 Responses

  1. a lovely walk down memory lane…thanks!

  2. Hi, Pia! It was for me, too; I hadn’t heard it in years, but it came into my head all of a sudden.

  3. I have always loved this song.

  4. Hello, Robert. 🙂 I’m glad you had a chance to hear it here! Thanks so much for visiting and leaving me some feedback. It’s always very much appreciated!

  5. GREAT song.. thanks so much!!!!!!!!!

  6. You’re welcome, Jana! So glad you enjoyed it!

  7. Thank you… it was great to find this…………. my best friend sang this at our wedding many years ago.

  8. You’re welcome, Judith. It brought back many lovely memories for me as well.

  9. I love this song, it brings back childhood memories. Thank you for a wonderful listening experience and thank you for posting the lyrics, making it easy to sing-a-long!

  10. You’re welcome, Cate! Thanks for stopping by!

  11. for 40 years i have tried to recall this song that my daddy and mom sang. never dreamed i would find it. such happy times it was. thank-you!! and God Bless.

  12. It seems as though they were special years for so many of us, Laura – some special kind of joy was in the air (or the rain). 🙂 God bless you too.

  13. […] (If you don’t know the song you can read the lyrics and listen to a recording at : Joy is Like the Rain.) This was one of the first songs I learned to accompany myself on […]

  14. Thanks for that link, JoAnn. I wish you much success and happiness in your work helping people with music therapy.

  15. I was looking for staff notation for the song. where do I find staves?

  16. I’m sorry, Albert, but after looking around the Internet, all I could find were guitar chords.

  17. My son heard this song when he was 4 or 5 years old and he still remembers it at age 42. It is lovely.

  18. Hi, Carol. It boggles the mind, doesn’t it, to think how much joy this one song has brought people all over the world for so many decades!

  19. Popped into my mind today. So happy to find the words and recording. My fourth grade teacher taught this to my class. Sr. Patricia and her guitar.

Leave a Reply

