Novena for the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

For those of you who may wish to begin a novena today for the Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary on August 15, 2008 here is a prayer which may be used:

Mary, Queen Assumed into Heaven, I rejoice that after years of heroic martyrdom on earth, you have at last been taken to the throne prepared for you in heaven by the Holy Trinity.

Lift my heart with you in the glory of your Assumption above the dreadful touch of sin and impurity. Teach me how small earth becomes when viewed from heaven. Make me realize that death is the triumphant gate through which I shall pass to your Son, and that someday my body shall rejoin my soul in the unending bliss of heaven.

From this earth, over which I tread as a pilgrim, I look to you for help. In honor of your Assumption into heaven I ask for this favor: (Mention your request).

When my hour of death has come, lead me safely to the presence of Jesus to enjoy the vision of my God for all eternity together with you.

[From:  Favorite Novenas to Mary, by Rev. Lawrence G. Lovasik, pg. 32]

19 Responses

  1. I may be late – thanks to Carol for the nudge, but I’m still going to do this novena , Gabrielle.
    I thought of this site last night when someone mentioned the Feast of the Assumption, so now I’m very pleased indeed to come here and find this most beautiful prayer – so many truths are hidden within its lines and wisdom too., where Our Lady is not only Queen but Mother, Teacher, Advocate, and Guide.

  2. And the sweetest part somehow is the prayer that precedes this Novena, to which I drop down after praying the Novena, because I find myself so wrapped up in the pain of a plea that I’ve uncharacteristically placed on that blank line that asks for something in honour of her Assumption, I find I’m not thinking of her at all– except around the edges. It’s nice, then, to have the other prayer to follow up with each day which points the heart to her, and it’s an especially nice prayer. Again, thank you for both.

  3. Ann, I think it is a very beautiful prayer too, and I pray your novena will bring many blessings to yourself as well as others.

    Carol, I understand how you feel about filling in the “blank”. Often my novenas are for others, sometimes they are in thanksgiving for favours received, but sometimes they are for myself, such as for an increase in a particular virtue, when I feel I’m not making very much progress. That is the beauty of novenas – and I’m sure the Holy Spirit has a “hand” in helping us decide how to fill in the blank each time.

  4. Please pray that my husband Tom or my self will find new employment today. We need work so we become homeless.

  5. Dear Phoebe,

    I have actually just started a novena, and I will add your intention and ask for Our Lady’s intercession in helping you and your husband to find employment as soon as possible. I found a prayer for employment to St. Anthony as well, and so I share it here so that the three of us may pray it together (in spirit):

    “Blessed Anthony, our intercessor in times of need, you gave yourself as a tireless worker in the vineyard of the Lord. By our labour we produce the things needed for human life. So our work is honourable and holy and makes perfect the work of God’s creation.

    Pray that I may find work which enhances my human dignity, draws me closer to God, and makes my life, as was yours, a real service to my fellow men.

    Provide for me while I am in this trial of unemployment. I need your help, blessed friend. Come to my aid.”

    You’re not alone, Phoebe; I know it’s not easy, but try to turn your worries over to our Mother Mary and ask for her help every day in your job search. Let me know how things are going if you can; I’ll be praying…

  6. Dear Friends,
    I have checked today with HR office about my INITIAL clearance but all my application still pending in New York office.
    Kindly you all pray for me so that people in New York will clear me by sending my INITIAL SOON for my International post. Via your prayer God will open the window, heart and way so that they can clear me by sending my INITIAL SOON.
    Thanks and god blesses you all.

    Efigenia

  7. REQUESTING PRAYERS FOR MY DAUGHTER WHO’S HAVING A CHILD AND HER LIVE IN BOYFRIEND WHO’S A VERY SPECIAL PERSON LOST HIS JOB ABOUT A MONTH AGO. NEED GUIDANCE AND STRENGTH.

    K.P.

  8. Request prayers for my daughter who is now having a child and her live in boyfriend (very special) recently lost his job. Need guidance from our Blessed Mother.

    K.P.

  9. Dear Karen,

    I will pray for your daughter and the safe delivery of her baby, as well as for her boyfriend being able to find work very soon. Also I will ask for Mary’s intercession for them being open to a sacramental union, because our Lord will bless this and Mother Mary will then be able to distribute many more graces freely to them which will aid them in all ways. God bless you, and wishing you much, much happiness with your family and this new little bundle of joy soon to arrive.

  10. Request prayer for niece Juna Compuesto, be completely healed from her LUPUS. Mama Mary please touch and heal her. Amen.

  11. I am writing your niece’s name down on a piece of paper, Berny, and will include her in my novena, for Mary’s intercession and a complete healing. I love that you call Mary “Mama”. It reminds me of “Abba” Father.

  12. please pray for austin my grandson who is on drugs and called me crying for help said his mom and dad will not help him he lives in another city and i am 83 years old all i can do is pray God will step in and cure him thank you for this novena have a great forever

  13. Hello Margaret,

    I have added Austin’s name to my prayerlist too for this novena. If you could let me know what city he is in I could do a bit of research and email you a few phone numbers he might call to get some help. God bless you and may Mother Mary uphold you and ease your worries.

  14. Please pray for the St. Mel’s Parish in Norco. The Holy Spirit is there doing much work – and so is the devil trying to wreak havoc on the great work. Pray for unity, renewal, peace and God’s will be done at St. Mel’s.
    Thank you and God bless all who help St. Mel’s.

  15. Dear Elizabeth, I have prayed for the Blessed Virgin’s intercession for St. Mel’s Parish – may everyone stay focused in prayer and the Divine Will, and allow the Holy Spirit to complete the work that He has begun…

  16. Good day. I am Darwin de la Cruz, a Catholic in the Philippines. Please pray that the Reproductive Health Bill will not be passed in our Congress since it promotes contraception, and violates the constitution that aims to protect life from the moment of conception. AMEN

  17. Hello, Darwin. I see in an article dated June 6, 2012 that Senators Miriam Defensor-Santiago and Pia Cayetano unfortunately are still optimistic that it may go through by August. Let’s hope and pray that the other members of your Congress will bear up under the pressure from the minority and do what is right in the eyes of God, and that He will bless your homeland because of it.

  18. Hello Gabrielle and friends all over the world,

    My name is Feronia Moujing. I stumbled upon your page when I was in the middle searching for novena of the Assumption of the blessed Virgin Mary. I would like to request to pray for my Special Intention/petition, which is:

    To obtain my posting as a trained teacher under Malaysian Ministry of Education to serve in the Government Primary School immediately. Please pray to the Lord to have mercy on me and to touch the heart and open the eyes of the officers who in-charge on my posting application. I am desperately need a stable career with stable income in the teaching field to serve in the Government Primary School Around Sabah. Please pray to the Lord to pour His graces on me that I will be patient, strong and stay calm while waiting for my Posting to be revealed by God in His right time and in His own way. Pray for me also so that I will be able to pray with faith without doubt and only to put my trust and believe in god. All this I ask through the intercession of Mother Mary. I pray in Jesus name. Thank You Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

    I beg Please pray for me constantly until my request is granted. Amen. Thank You. God bless you all.

  19. I beg you please to pray for my brother isaac who is starting his final exams in november this year and currently is performing poorly. Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

