Our Lady of Perpetual Help

At Contemplative Haven today, I posted about the novena I will be doing in preparation for the Feastday of Our Lady of Perpetual Help.  The links to the two novena aids can also be found in my sidebar here, just to the left, under “More Mary”.

There are many variations on the original Icon of Our Lady of Perpetual Help.  Here is a very sweet one I recently came across on the official website for the Melkites of the U.S., and gratefully used with their permission:

How consoling to know that we can find this same safety and protection beneath Our Lady’s mantle. We need not be hesitant; we can simply reach out and grasp it. It is big enough to cover all of her children and offered with an abiding love, from the most maternal of Hearts.

8 Responses

  1. I love this painting of Mary – do you know anything about its origin?

  2. And what are Mary and Jesus holding up?

  3. Paul, I was looking at many icons yesterday – Madonna and Child, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Theotokos – and I came across this one on the website of the Melkite Greek Catholic Church, Eparchy of Newton, in Roslindale, MA. I found it in their education section, where there is a series of questions geared for Grades 6-8 students. I’m sorry I don’t know anything about the history of this particular icon though.

    Hush, I can’t say for sure, but to me it looks like it’s in the shape of the Sacred Heart, but it looks like the texture of a Host. I wonder if it is to symbolize the Eucharistic Sacred Heart.

  4. Indeed so — it looked to me like a heart, and like a large Host, like unleavened bread, and like a seashell.

    “Eucharistic Sacred Heart” — I like it.

  5. Just like people to know that when I pray to the Blessed Mother and Saint Clare my prayers are always answered. I feel a sense of peacefulness. The novena is 9 hail Marys and a lighting of a candle everyday of the nine days. Ask for two personal favors, and one business. Promise to print. Thank you Blessed Mother and Saint Clare for always being there in my time of need!

  6. Wendy, thank you for sharing your experience of Mother Mary’s and St. Clare’s intercession. They are so close to us, and want so much to help us with our needs and in our struggles. I know what you mean about the sense of peacefulness.

  7. Dear St Claire, i asked for 3 favors. Today is the 9th day of my novena and this morning my prayer for financial help was answered. Thank you for interceeding for me. Thank you Holy Mother for your help. Praise and glory be to the Father, and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit now and forever. Amen.

  8. Dear Mary, I join you in thanking St. Claire and the Blessed Virgin for their intercession for your needs, and in praise and thanksgiving to the Holy Trinity. Thank you for your testimony here, and may you have a blessed Lent.

Leave a Reply

