Memorial of the Immaculate Heart of Mary

Today is a very special day, as we celebrate here both the Visitation and the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Although Marian feasts are broken down into Solemnities, Feastdays, Memorials, “other” feasts and “local” feasts according to the liturgical calendar, they will all be treated as Feastdays in my “Categories”, because that is what they are in my heart!

To honour and celebrate the Immaculate Heart of Mary here today, I would like to share a video with you from the YouTube Channel of the Franciscan Friars of the Immaculate. This video, in eight minutes, encapsulates exactly how I hope to spend my day, and the rest of my life, for that matter: reflection on Mary, responding to an invitation to consecration or renewal of consecration, prayer and song. May you be blessed today!

 
O Holy and Immaculate Heart (featuring Fr. Maximilian Dean and Michael Grogan)

4 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this which is so dear to you, Gabrielle.
    The other day I was over here at this blog doing a search for a need I had for Our LAdy, and found a link which helped me so much.
    I am finding a need for a closer relationship with Our Mother..not just because it is her feast day,,,this has been going on for several weeks now..
    I knew that this little apostolate over here would have something to help me in my search for more of Our Mother.
    Blessings to you, Gab.
    and I notice that you don’t have your prayer basket on the site any more, but I do ask that you would say just 1 ‘Hail Mary’ for me in my search today.
    Luv ya!

  2. I will, teresa.

    You know, there is so much wonderful Marian material online that I could never put as many resources here as I’d really like to (I have much already saved on my computer as “favourites” that I haven’t had time to add in the sidebar or in posts yet.) But if you are ever searching for anything in particular, please don’t hesitate to send me an email, and I can let you know if I know where you can find it, or I can help you to search.

    I know as a lay Carmelite you are already consecrated to Mary, and I pray she will draw you closer and closer to her Heart in the weeks ahead as you follow this yearning you have recognized. Love you too, will pray, and don’t hesitate to email!

  3. *gasp! I didn’t know teresa was a lay Carmelite! How wonderful!

  4. Yes, I believe teresa mentioned it also on one of her older blogs, and in a comment here in Dec 07 when she was welcoming me to my new blog here, teresa reminded me of her special devotion to Our Lady of Mount Carmel, and how she was under Her “special protection”. That is also why, at Contemplative Haven, teresa always has such wonderful insights into the teachings of St. Teresa of Avila, for example, and other Carmelite saints and writers.

Leave a Reply

