Getting Started

Three of the primary consecration resources which will be used on this blog are:

  1. “True Devotion to Mary” (St. Louis de Montfort)
  2. “The Secret of Mary” (St. Louis de Montfort)
  3. “In the End My Immaculate Heart Will Triumph.  Consecration Preparation for the Triumphant Victory of the Immaculate Heart of Mary” (Fr. Dominik Maria) 

“True Devotion to Mary” has also been published over the years under the titles of “True Devotion to the Blessed Virgin” and “Treatise on True Devotion to Mary”.  I am using this version of True Devotion to Mary, and this version of The Secret of Mary, both published by TAN.  Please bear in mind that there have been many different translations over the years from the original French, so the passages I quote here may not be worded identically to what is in your own book, or to what you may be following along with online.  (Just as an aside, many of the publications as well as the online versions spell this saint’s name incorrectly.  The”d” in de Montfort should not be capitalized, so I will only be using the correct spelling on this blog).

Online Resources:

So, over the next little while, I’d like us to spend some time here becoming familiar with these consecration resources, as well as talking about the reasons behind consecration to Mary.  As we do so, some of you may experience a call to begin a formal consecration preparation in February, ending with a Consecration Day of March 25th, and I’d love to be right beside you every step of the way. ♥ ♥ ♥

11 Responses

  1. You’ve got me interested..

  2. Feb. 2 is Candlemas (Presentation of the Lord), and Mar. 25 is Annunciation Day. Could it get any better than that? We’ll see, but certainly you’ve got me interested as well. You’ve got the interest of anyone who truly wishes to help bring peace to this earth, to help bring the Reign of the Sacred Heart to all.

    I’ve printed out the entire book of preparation so as to have a much more in-depth look at it all.

    I feel badly that you walked those 33 days too humanly alone; and it is just exactly that sort of humble servant who then offers to walk anyone else’s 33 with them. You’re pretty darned nice, girl.

  3. Thank you so much, Jackie and JustMe. I hope this blog will be a veritable “explosion” of all things Mary, but I want to start with the consecration resource material, and take it step by step from there. I know you said “humanly” alone, JustMe, and it’s true, I kept it pretty much to myself, but I never felt alone. It was one of the happiest periods of my recent life, filled with a quiet joy and anticipation. So now I just want to do what I can to possibly help other people understand more about Consecration to Mary, but I will be learning right along with anyone who may be reading.

  4. When you first mentioned the setting up of this new blog, Gabrielle, I remember wondering then if it would be possible for you to lead and guide a small group of readers at a time through the 33 days.
    Now I know.
    I haven’t looked at the resources yet but I would certainly be very interested in this.
    The fact that the 33 days will almost all fall within the season of Lent is well timed indeed. Ans as Justme has pointed out, the first of these would be on Candlemas day.

  5. I hadn’t really made a plan, Ann, but let’s do that. I’ll try to set up the posts in such a way that anyone can still use them as guidelines no matter what 33-day period they wish to use. I’ll try to get an intro up before Saturday.

  6. What does the consecration itself consist in? I mean is it a ceremony with a priest, etc? Because I’ve heard of nothing of the kind around here, and I would not know who to ask about it!

  7. This site is an excellent idea! It´s good to know there are others out there also interested in this devotion. I came to know the consacration to Mary some years ago when I was in college and have renewed it ever since on every feast of the Immaculate Conception. This devotion really transforms your life.

    Gonzalo

  8. Pia, I’m going to put up a post today just with a general summary of what the consecration consists of re de Montfort and re the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart booklet. There are general guidelines, but it’s not a case of specific rules; rather, it’s a period of time in which we grow closer to Mary, by preparing ourselves, through prayer and reflection, culminating on the consecration day which is the Feastday of Mary of your choice. I’ve read about groups of parishioners, for example, who chose to do the consecration preparation together, and for this kind of thing there might very well be a priest involved on the consecration day, but otherwise, no, it is a very personal, one-on-one time between oneself and the Blessed Virgin.

    Gonzalo, thank you for your supportive comment. It is certainly wonderful to be able to share the transformation with others. We would really welcome your thoughts and insights as we go along here.

    Re the post I’m hoping to put up today and the one for tomorrow: we’re having a snowstorm today (they say around 30 cm) so please forgive me if anything happens to my Internet connection and I’m unable to do what I wish to. If something unfortunate along those lines should happen, and you were planning on starting tomorrow, just go ahead and click on the link for either de Montfort or the Triumph, and begin with the outlined suggested prayers and daily reflection.

  9. Re “starting tomorrow”: I’ve just put up a post to indicate that I told you all the wrong start-date! Mea culpa…

  10. I love your little heart avatar…!
    … and I’m glad the preparation and the consecration can be strictly personal. I think it’s just what I need right now.

  11. That’s wonderful, Pia. It says in the Consecration booklet somewhere (I can find it later and post it) that it is the strength of our desire that will attract Mary to our hearts.

Leave a Reply

