Prayer to St. Gabriel the Archangel

Although we will be celebrating the Feast of the Annunciation of the Lord on March 31st this year (due to the octave of Easter), I would like to share this prayer to the glorious archangel/saint today:

Saint Gabriel the Archangel, I venerate you as the Angel of the Incarnation, because God specially appointed you to bear the messages concerning the God-Man to Daniel, Zechariah, and the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Give me a very tender and devoted love for the Incarnate Word and his Blessed Mother more like your own.  I venerate you also as the “Strength from God” because you are the giver of God’s strength, consoler and comforter chosen to strengthen God’s faithful and teach them important truths.  I ask for the grace of a special power of the will to strive for holiness of life.  Steady my resolutions; renew my courage; comfort and console me in the problems, trials and sufferings of daily living, as you consoled our Savior in his agony and Mary in her sorrows and Joseph in his trials. I put my confidence in you.  Saint Gabriel, I ask you especially for this favor: (mention your request). Through your earnest love for the Son of God made man and for his Blessed Mother I beg of you, intercede for me that my request may be granted, if it be God’s holy will.

Pray for us, Saint Gabriel the Archangel, that we may be worthy of the promises of Christ. Amen.

16 Responses

  1. This is a beautiful prayer to Saint Gabriel. I’m familiar with the well known prayer to St. Michael but this one is new to me.
    I’ve been reading a book of Jessica Powers poems and I see she wrote several poems dedicated to angels.
    I’m going to copy and paste this one so I can keep it close by. Thanks, Gabrielle – you’re an angel.

  2. Ann, I found this beautiful prayer and many more on a Catholic site called, “Sarah’s Archangels”. I did not know it previously either, but I loved it when I read it. Jessica Powers’ poetry too – teresa anawim introduced her to me last year on her old blog – I think her religious name is Sr. Miriam, if I remember correctly (?)

    http://www.sarahsarchangels.com/

  3. Yes, Gabrielle, Jessica’s name was Sr. Miriam of the Holy Spirit – and she has several poems dedicated to the holy Spirit.
    It was through reading one of her poems on the Aeternus blog that I actually ordered the book of selected poems from the Carmeliltes in Oxford, England – it is a treasure, so many beautiful poems, I just love it.
    Thanks for the link here to Sarah’s site.

  4. What a beautiful prayer to St. Gabrielle, I never read this one either and you gave the source of it already.

  5. Hello, marie cecile. Thanks so much for dropping in, and I’m happy you liked the prayer too. I wish I could memorize all my favourites, but these days, I have to print them out!

  6. A beautiful prayer, and Amen.

    No one knows this (who was there to tell?), but if I’d ever had another boy after Dale, he’d have been named Gabriel. Well, maybe I participated in a little “Gabriel” after all, for that is the name I gave to a spiritually adopted fetus a few years ago. I didn’t figure up the timing in advance, but later realized that 9 months to the day after I “adopted” this unknown child (and his mama) in humble prayer, it was the feast day of the Archangels. I’ve always attributed some likings to just coincidences, but in the same way that even as a young child the word “Paraclete” stills/recreates me, so does the name “Gabriel” attract and quiet me. It’s like Reality breaking through for a moment.

    I’ve always loved the name “Gabrielle”, too!

  7. Me too. :)

    When I look back on all the many things I attributed to coincidence, I see now only the mysterious workings of the Blessed Trinity and Mother Mary. That baby and mama are blessed to have you as their spiritual mother/protectrice.

  8. Amen.

    You know, I (like all girls/women) have spent a lot of time crying over the years, but they weren’t the good kind of tears. Why didn’t someone assure me that increasing age would bring the sweetest mistings ever? I can’t believe in coincidence; as you say elsewhere, it’s all been kinda interwoven, hasn’t it?

    And you know, here’s a silly thought coming from a 4-time mom who KNOWS one never stops being a mom –there’s grandMOTHERing and other-mothering to do always.. always. And as you mention of your son’s going away this summer, one “Moms” in grief and loss and joy and pride and fear.. even before the fact. It is our lot, as it was Mary’s.
    It is our privilege, as it was Mary’s, to cooperate with the Creator. All the motherly, I mean, not just actual moms. All who mother, be they youngsters or oldesters, or even monks. We share in her privilege and in her sorrow, via love. Utterly helpless love. Anyway, the silly thought is that I thought I was done with little Gabe and his mom. Did I not know that a spiritual mum/grandmum is never, ever done, too?

  9. Silly you.

  10. Dear Samuel,

    I just wanted to let you know that I have offered up the Prayer to St. Gabriel the Archangel as well as prayers to Our Lady for all the intentions you mentioned in your comment.

    I removed your comment because I do not think it is wise to be mentioning the names of employers here, nor do I think it is charitable to be entering the family names on the Internet of people you deem as needing conversion.

    Perhaps you did not intend any disrespect of those persons or of my site, but I would ask you to please use more discernment if you comment here in the future. God bless.

  11. God, the Father 3-Day Prayer

    My Father in Heaven, how sweet it is to know that you are my Father and that I am your Child! Especially when the skies of my soul are cloudy and my cross weighs more heavily, I feel the need to repeat to you: Father, I believe in your love for me!
    Yes, I believe that You are a Father to me at every moment of my life, and that I am your child!
    I believe that You love me with an infinate love!
    I believe that You are watching over me night and day and that not a hair falls from my head without your permission!

    I believe that, in Your infinate wisdom, You know better than I what is good for me.
    I believe that, in Your infinate power, You can bring good even out of evil.

    I believe that, in Your infinate goodness, you make everything to the advantage of those who love You; even under the hands of those who strike me I kiss Your hand which heals!

    I believe, but increase in me faith, hope and love!

    Teach me always to see Your love as my guide in every event of my life.

    Teach me to surrender myself to You like a baby in its mother’s arms.

    Father, You know everything, You see everything, You know me better than I know myself; You can do everything, and You love me!

    My Father, since it is your wish that we should always turn to You, I come with confidence to ask You, together with Jesus and Mary…(here request the favour that you desire).

    For this intention, and uniting myself to their Most Sacred Hearts, I offer You all my prayers, my sacrifices and mortifications, all my action, and greater faithfulness to my duties*.
    Give me the light, the grace and the power of the Holy Spirit!

    Strengthen me in this Spirit, that I may never lose Him, never sadden Him and never allow Him to become weaker in me.

    My Father, I ask this in the name of Jesus, Your Son! And You, Jesus, open Your heart and place it in my own, and, together with Mary’s, offer it up to our devine Father! Obtain for me the grace that I need!

    Divine Father, call all men to yourself. Let all the world proclaim Your fatherly goodness and Your devine mercy!
    Be a tender Father to me and protect me wherever I am, like the apple of your eye.
    Make me always a worthy daughter; have mercy on me!

    Divine Father, sweet hope of our souls, may You be known, honoured and loved by all men!
    Divine father, infinate goodness poured out on all peoples, may You be known, honoured and loved by all men!
    Divine Father, beneficent dew of humanity, may you be known, honoured and loved by all men!

    Say for 3 days, 9 is better, then publish. You can publish at http://light-a-candle.org/novenadisplay.shtml

  12. cv, thank you for this beautiful novena to God the Father. candle.org is also a very lovely site.

  13. am blessed to read this page i want archangel gabriel to one day appear to me in my dreams even if am a sinner.
    from AFRICA ZAMBIA.

  14. Hello Fidesk; I’m so happy you felt blessed reading this prayer. You can call on Archangel Gabriel to help you anytime you want, and know that even if you do not have any supernatural awareness of his presence, he will be with you immediately. The angels and archangels rejoice in helping us, even though we are sinners, and remember, just like the prayer says, Archangel Gabriel along with the other angels and archangels will console us, comfort us, strengthen us and aid us in seeking forgiveness for our sins and growing in holiness.

  15. St Gabriel, pray for us.

  16. Peace be with you and yours, Chris. Thank you so much for visiting. Blessings this Christmas and always.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

